Strategic Coasting

I’ve been on intellectual hiatus. Not that i’ve been on hiatus in the land of intellectualism- more like, I’ve been avoiding that place like the plague. It’s been a few weeks (3?) now that i haven’t read any books or studied or really thought long and hard about anything. I was reading a few different books (which is my norm), but i set them all aside at one time and haven’t picked one up since.  

It’s been really nice, actually. I haven’t been engaging people in particularly deep discussions or picking their brains about issues. I might call it coasting-but I would probably counter (in my head) that it’s strategic coasting. I can get pretty bogged down in weighty stuff and lose sanity and social interest. This hiatus is a calm before the storm… of sorts. My new year is this Thursday and this is a great time for me to reset and refine my thoughts on the coming year. Reflection on the past year is the first order of business, 

…or i’m just slacking off. 

Leave a Reply

